Books

Currently Reading

I love to read good books. I  also love it when people share their book lists so that I can find more good books to read. I am currently reading several AMAZING books, so I thought I’d share them.

The Contender by Robert Lipsyte –

I just started this book today, but already I am really enjoying it so far. It’s not a happy story, but it has given me an idea of what it is like to live in the poorer section of town. It has given me an idea of what it’s like to live just to survive each day.

After the War by Carol Matas –

This book isn’t very long, but it’s really good. It’s about the Jews who survived World War II and what life looked like for them afterwards. Again, not a happy book, but it’s an amazing one. I honestly never thought much about what it would be like to survive the Holocaust and how hard that would be, but this book has made me ponder it more. I have come to realize through this book that we all have stories. There is a reason we are the way we are, and this book has made me want to learn other peoples stories.

Cry, the Beloved Country by Alan Paton –

I’m almost finished reading this one, and when I began reading it, I didn’t have very high hopes. I was wrong. Cry, the Beloved Country is way too good to summarize, but I’ll tell you, it is a heart-wrenching story. Through this book, God has shown me the sinful side of human nature and that the sins you commit don’t just effect you, but those around you as well. All I can say is read it!

 Unbroken: A World War II story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption by Laura Hillenbrand –

This is an amazingly well written story about Louis Zamperini and, even though it’s about World War II, it does contain some funny parts. I think the first thing I like about this book is that it’s history and I love history. But it has also taught me to never give up. I think so often we have a goal, but think it’s too hard to accomplish, so we give up; that’s one thing Louis Zamperini didn’t do. It is a truly amazing story.

Playing Saint by Zachary Bartels –

I purchased this book over the weekend along with three other books, so I haven’t read much of it yet, but have enjoyed all I have read so far. Playing Saint is a dark book, but the thing I love about it is that there is hope in the darkness. The only suspense novels I’ve read have been written by Ted Dekker and I won’t say this is quite as good as Dekker’s, but it’s pretty close. I think Playing Saint is becoming one of my favorite novels.

Daring to Hope: Finding God’s Goodness in the Broken and the Beautiful by Katie Davis Majors –

I received Daring to Hope for Christmas and have been slowly working my way through it since then. It is an amazing story and God has really been teaching me a lot through it. I have been learning how broken we all are, but that doesn’t have to be ugly. Through this book I have learned that with the brokenness comes healing and that these are both painful, it makes us new.  There are just way too many good thing that I could say about this book, but I’ll leave it with that.

 Future Grace by John Piper –

I got Future Grace after Christmas and have been reading it off and on since then. Let me just say, I haven’t read one of Piper’s books and not walked away with something to chew on. He writes in a way that I can understand and I learn something new with every single chapter. I highly recommend all of his books.

Those are most of the books I’m currently reading. What are y’all reading right now?

Photo Credit

One thought on “Currently Reading

Leave a comment