Quarantine files

Quarantine files: 1 week in

I’ve been stuck in my house for almost a week now and I’m growing weary, very weary.

At the beginning, I thought that it would all be okay, that for this introvert, it wouldn’t be hard to stay at home as opposed to going somewhere daily like I did before all this. But I didn’t know how much I would miss it all. I didn’t know how much I would miss worshiping with other believers on Sunday and playing music to help them worship. I didn’t know that I’d miss my classes or the kids that I saw at work almost every day. I do though.

We had church through live video online today and it was so good, but it wasn’t the same. This is what we need to do right now to keep ourselves and those around us safe, but it’s not fun and it’s hard, really hard.

BUT. I didn’t come on here to talk about how hard quarantine can be because I’m certain you already know. I came on here to, I don’t know, share my experiences and thoughts, yes, but also share what God has been teaching me in all this.

So week 1 of quarantine: I’ve been learning to be thankful.

This past week I was sick, it was rainy, I couldn’t go outside or anywhere else. Honestly, I didn’t want to be thankful. I wanted my circumstances to change, I wanted sun and no sickness and I wanted to be able to go out somewhere. My circumstances didn’t really change much, but God showed me that there are things I can be thankful for, like my books, and His grace, and my family, and good food.

It’s hard, but I’m trying to daily practice thankfulness while staying at my house day after day. It’s so easy to look at life and think that everything’s bad right now, that no good things will come from all this. It’s so easy to dwell on the suffering and what we can’t have right now, but that just makes it all worse. So I’m daily trying to practice thankfulness because when I intentionally find things to be thankful for, my attitude shifts and becomes one of gratefulness and joy instead of negativity.

What have you been learning during this difficult time?

Soli Deo Gloria,
Kathryn

Leave a comment